|If you have a question |
about Wave Gotik Treffen
or Leipzig, or if you have
new info that will improve
this site then feel free to
email me Sadgoth
wonderful city then I highly recommend getting your camera out and heading into town.
The City is safe and still has some of that Eastern European feel to it. It has changed in the six years that I have been going to Leipzig
and the biggest change is probably due to the World Cup in 2006. Leipzig was a host city and made huge changes to update its already
excellent tram network and to replace shabby buildings.
AUGUSTUSPLATZ A BLUE
In a way unrivalled by any other square in Leipzig, Augustusplatz reflects the architectural history of Leipzig in the 20th century and, with
the buildings enclosing and adjoining it, offers visitors a lesson in the change in architectural styles and methods during the past
decades. In 1929, the building of the 13-storey Europa tower block was seen as revolutionary. To its right are witnesses to the Stalin
German party leader Ulbricht, the former hotel "Deutschland", now hotel "Mercure", and the glass and aluminum structure of the Central
Post Office. The end of this frontage is marked by the city's tallest residential block. Together with the new Gewandhaus building, this
31-storey construction built in 1972 dates from Honecker's period of rule.
The neo-Baroque Mende Fountain (18m high), built in the square in 1886, is the only remaining testimony to one of Germany's leading
late 19th century square ensembles. Rebuilt and bearing new pieces of porphyry, it stands before the New Gewandhaus and forms a
striking contrast to the new and modernly designed Augustusplatz with its jet fountain in front of the Opera House.
NOTE: In 2006 Augustusplatz was undergoing major re-development
THE MARKET SQUARE B BLUE
The Market Square is situated right in the city centre. In its centre, Leipzig's city coat-of-arms is set in the mosaic paving. The Market
Square was the scene of last public execution and first political demonstrations. In 1824, Woyzeck, later to be resurrected in a play by
Büchner, died here under the executioner's axe.
OLD TOWN HALL C BLUE
The Old City Hall, built in the record time of nine months between 1556 and 1557 by Hieronymus Lotter and built between two trade
fairs, is one of the most beautiful German Renaissance buildings.
OLD STOCK EXCHANGE D BLUE
Behind Old City Hall is Naschmarkt. On its narrow north side there is Old Stock Exchange, built in 1687, where merchants formerly drew
up their contracts during trade fairs. The impressive hall on the 1st floor is today used for small events and concerts. In front of Old
Stock Exchange, a sculpture of Johann Wolfgang von Goethe commemorates his student years and youthful sweethearts in Leipzig.
MÄDLER PASSAGE ARCADES AND AUERBACHS KELLER E BLUE
The Franconian medical professor from Auerbach, Heinrich Stromer, erected Auerbachs Hof in the Renaissance style between 1530
and 1538 as a passage courtyard. It would later go on to be known as Mädler Passage arcades. He inherited this in 1519 and in 1525
he opened a very fashionable wine bar. In 1625 the building was converted to a shopping arcade which has been impressively
described by Goethe. The notoriety of "Auerbachs Keller" is due to the Keller-scene from Goethe's "Faust". Bronze figures by Leipzig's
Sculpter Matthieu Molitor effectively accentuate its entrance. (You can find more information about Auerbachs Keller on the Food and
Drink Page and WGT Venues Page>Auerbachs Keller)
THE NEW CITY HALL F BLUE
The New City Hall was completed in 1905 on the foundations of the former fortifications of the Pleissenburg according to plans laid
down by the "Director City Construction" Hugo Licht. Together with the City Hall completed in 1912, it has a total of 870 rooms. It is the
seat of the city's council. Extensive restoration work since the beginning of the Nineties has brought new splendour to the richly
decorated facades and roof structures.
THE WISDOM TOOTH SKYSCRAPER G BLUE
Lost in Leipzig? Look for the Skyscraper; you can see it from just about anywhere in the city. Nicknamed the ‘Wisdom Tooth’ it was
originally one of the University buildings, and was built 1968 - 75. It has a height of 142 m, and has 34 floors built in the shape of an
open book. It has the letters MDR at the top stand for Mitteldeutscher Rundfunk or Middle German Radio, which is the large publicly-
owned radio and Television Corporation serving this part of Germany. Since March 2002 the restaurant on the topmost floor has
reopened. On top you have a unique panorama view over Leipzig. The entrance fee is apparently quite low.
VOLKERSCHLACHTDENKMAL H BLUE Volkerschlachtdenkmal Website
The Monument to the Battle of the Nations, which is situated to the south of the city centre in Probstheida, it is one of the most famous
historical monuments and was inaugurated on 18th October 1913, on the occasion of the 100th anniversary of the Battle of the Nations
near Leipzig. As a memorial for peace it reminds all of the battle fought against the Napoleon troops by the allied armies and covers an
area of 80,000 m2, including its outside grounds. The viewing platform at a height of more than 90 m provides a superb view over
Leipzig's city centre and the surrounding area. Admission price is €5 + €1 for the lift to the top and opening hours are 10am to 6pm.
ZOO LEIPZIG I BLUE Zoo Leipzig Website
The Zoo in Leipzig is located to the North of the City Centre and was first opened in 1878. It was taken over by the city of Leipzig in 1920
after World War I and now covers about 225,000 m² and contains more than 2,000 animals of 500 different species. The zoo is
internationally noted for its large carnivore exhibit. And to date has bred more than 2,000 lions, 250 rare Siberian tigers. Its going to take
a number of hours to get around the site and apart from the carnivores you can expect to see Elephants, Giraffe, Zebra, Gorilla and
Crocodiles. Admission price is €11.50 and opening hours are 9am to 7pm.
STASI MUSEUM J BLUE Stasi Museum Website
The 110 m high City Hall tower is situated at the base of the old castle buildings. Its lookout platform can be accessed during guided
tours. The building in Dittrichring, which is popularly called the "Round Corner", used to house the Leipzig STASI (secret police)
headquarters until 1989. It was one of the focal points during the Monday Demonstrations which lead the way to the peaceful revolution
German reunification. Inside are exhibits on propaganda, absurd disguises, surveillance photos and mounds of papier-mâché, all that
remains of secret documents shredded and soaked before the German Democratic Republic fell. Opening hours are 10am to 6pm.
FINE ART MUSEUM K BLUE Fine Art Museum Website
The Museum der Bildenden Künste in Leipzig is the city’s Fine Art Museum. This building houses and exhibits a collection of paintings
and other pieces by many German masters, including Caspar David Friedrich, Lucas Cranach the Elder, and Martin Schongauer. It also
has works by other European artists, including Jan van Eyck, Rubens and Tintoretto, plus sculptures by Antonio Canova and Auguste
Rodin. There are also temporary exhibits throughout the year.
GRASSIMUSEUM L BLUE Grassimuseum Website
The Grassimuseum is one of the best museum complexes in the whole of Germany. It has recently been restored and turned into this
ambitious project, and houses three separate museums in the grand building. The museums are the Museum für Völkerkunder
(ethnography), with items collected from around the world and personal collections. The Musical Instruments Museum, with all sorts of
instruments on display – including the world’s oldest surviving clavichord. The Museum für Angewande (decorative arts), with a treasury
of items made of gold and silver and from a variety of backgrounds. Most exhibits change through the year, and most have English text
BACH MUSEUM M BLUE Bach Museum Website
The Bach Museum in Leipzig serves to illustrate the life and times of the celebrated composer who lived and worked in the city for the
last 27 years of his life. Johann Sebastian Bach worked as choirmaster in St. Thomas’ church, opposite the museum. In this museum,
you can see original manuscripts and items from his life, as well as hear his music piped over you as you wander around. The
museum also holds a library, research institute and events department. It is a must-see for any visit to Leipzig, and cements the city’s
place as a centre for music.
COFFEE HOUSE MUSEUM N BLUE Coffee House Museum Website
The craze for coffee and coffee houses hit Europe when the Turks began their invasions in the 17th century. In Leipzig and the rest of
Saxony, the craze was massive. The Museum Coffe Baum in Leipzig is housed above the Zum Arabischen Coffe Baum coffee house. It
is set up to explain the craze of coffee culture in Europe, particularly focussing on Saxony. It exhibits many coffee-related adverts,
equipment and porcelain sets. The coffee house below is one of the original and best in the town
MENDELSSOHN HOUSE MUSEUM O BLUE Mendelssohn House Museum Website
The composer Felix Mendelssohn Bartholdy spent the last 12 years of his life in Leipzig. He lived in this former tenement building on
Goldschmidtstrasse, and died here in 1847. As well as working as a composer in the town, he also directed the world famous
Gewanhaus Orchestra, and is credited for reviving the music of Bach, which had been much forgotten. His former house is now a
museum, with exhibits on his works and life, particularly the years spent in Leipzig. Some works of art by the composer are also on
display, as well as his piano.
EGYPTIAN MUSEUM P BLUE Egyptian Museum Website
Leipzig’s Egyptian Museum is a fascinating repository of all things from the land of the Pharaohs. Run by the University of Leipzig, the
museum displays all manner of artifacts including sarcophagi, monuments, items from tombs and more. There are faithful
reconstructions and exhibits on show which help to explain the history of Egypt and life there.
BAYERISCHER STATION Q BLUE
Leipzig’s Bayerischer Bahnhof is the oldest functioning railway station in Europe. It is located to the south of the old town (Altstadt), and
was constructed from 1842. It is famous for the four-portal Portikus structure over the tracks, which once led trains to a turntable. The
Portikus has recently been moved whilst a new high-speed link was constructed. It will be moved back to its original spot in 2008. The
station still has a number of services operating through it, although nowhere near as many as the main Hauptbahnhof. It is still an
historic sight worth seeing.
TOURIST ATTRACTIONS - MARKKLEEBERG
LAKE MARKKLEEBERG R BLUE Markkleeberg See Website
(Or Markkleeberg See)The grand opening takes place May 20, 2006 inviting visitors to explore and experience Lake Markkleeberg.
While an expansion of 250 acres is rather small the lake’s topographical location is unique. You can see the change from opencast
mining to a leisure and tourist area for yourself. Based on a co-operation between neighboring Lake Störmthal and the city of Leipzig an
area with water-routes for canoes is being developed called 'Kanupark'. Several projects are planned or undergo realization: the
Promenade with the gate
to the south – information and communication center for Neuseenl@nd, archaeological park “mittendrin Markkleeberg”, wild-water
route, a port for sailing-boats and campgrounds within the adventure area in Auenhain. (Note for those looking on a Satellite Map: Lake
Markkleeberg is obviously quite new, and many of the satellite pictures will be old and may show the lake unfilled by water).
COSPUDENER SEE S BLUE
The Cospudener lake is a artificial lake south of Leipzig. It was developed from a open-cast mining pit, which was flooded. The lake
rose like a phoenix from the ashes. Where clear water invites to take a swim nowadays, coal was extracted for many years under GDR-
rule until the change. The lake is situated between the cities of Leipzig, Markkleeberg and Zwenkau. Lake Cospuden is 3.5 km long and
1.5 km wide. The change from opencast mining into a modern recreation area with many leisure amenities can be seen from the 35
meter high observation tower “Bistumshöhe”.Numerous options await guests who prefer more quiet activities. Recommendations are
swimming and relaxing on the north and east bank, restful hours in the “Sauna-im-See”, a round of golf on the 9-hole golf-course, a
boat trip with the motor boat “Cospuden” or a cozy discovering tour around the lake with narrow-gauge railway “Schlendrian”.
BELANTIS ENTERTAINMENT PARK T BLUE Belantis Website
The Belantis entertainment park, south of Leipzig, is Eastern Germany's largest recreational park. It is on the. On 27 hectares there are
35 attractions and three shows now spread across the surface of a former brown coal area themed on seven ranges of topics. The
park was opened on 5 April 2003 after 19 months construction period. You will find Europe's largest pyramid here that is converted into
a massive water slide, various roller coasters and other rides.
NOTE: I have only marked the approximate location on the map as the satellite map still only shows the open cast mine.
AGRA - MESSEPARK U BLUE
The spacious park was created as a landscape park. It comprises more than 250 different kinds of trees and bushes interspersed with
temples, statues and columns. Thousands of visitors are attracted by events throughout the year, an ecological education program and
the enchanted beauty. “Weißes Haus”, a villa with a magnificent hall of mirrors present itself as the pride of the park. The French
summer residence “Petit Trianon” (situated in the Versailles castle grounds) was taken as a model for the impressing architecture of
Weißes Haus. Being a registry office many couples from all over the country experience very romantic and significant wedding
ceremonies in Markkleeberg’s White House.
The extensive “agra-Parle” is bounded by “agra-Messepark”. The fair park serves for many different events like numerous animal and
agriculture exhibitions, fairs and presentations (As well as being the main venue for WGT). All contributing to agra-Park’s fabulous
WESTPHALSCHES HAUS V BLUE
The country house is one of the most outstanding addresses for culture in Markkleeberg. A lasting exhibition is dedicated to
archaeological finds, which are up to 280.000 years old, such as scrapers, knives and hand-axes. They are the oldest in Saxony.
Moreover, Westphalsches Haus is a venue for art exhibitions, concerts and readings held on regular basis.
HISTORIC TORHAUS MARKKLEEBERG W BLUE Torhaus Markkleeberg Website
The former feudal estate, situated in the east of Markkleeberg, consist of the Torhaus (the gateway to the former estate that was used
as housing area) and the “Auenkirche” (a small church) forming an outstanding architectural ensemble in the city. The Torhaus lay in
the center of severe fighting action during the Battle of the Nations in 1813. The ambitious museum in the Torhaus is dedicated to the
Battle of the Nations, also to the feudal estate’s history, to life in those days and customs in our area. Many visitors observe groups in
historic uniforms from all over Europe re-enacting scenes of the Battle of the Nations with great interest every October. Opening Times
are Monday to Friday, 8am - 3pm Sunday 2pm-5pm
OFFICIAL WGT WEBSITE OFFICIAL WGT FORUM